Baseball: Concord’s Wachter wins D-I Offensive Player of the Year, Stark’s Paolicelli awarded D-II Pitcher of the Year, Brady’s Skip Foy named D-III Coach of the Year among area All-State selections


Monitor staff

Published: 06-04-2023 11:25 PM

The Baseball Coaches’ Association of New Hampshire released end-of-season award winners and All-State rosters last week, with many Capital Area players and coaches receiving recognition.

Among the major award winners were Concord senior Nater Wachter, the Division I Offensive Player of the Year, and John Stark junior Anthony Paolicelli, the Division II Pitcher of the Year.

Wachter had a .483 batting average and .583 on-base percentage through the regular season, connecting for 28 hits – including seven doubles, three triples and four homers – 28 RBI, 23 runs and drawing 14 walks in 19 games. Most recently, he went 3-for-3 at the plate, scoring a pair of runs, in No. 7 Concord’s upset victory in extra innings over No. 2 Exeter in Saturday’s D-I quarterfinal.

Paolicelli pitched in eight games and won six of them throughout the regular season, holding opposing batters to a .171 average and posting a low ERA of 1.09. He struck out 75 batters in 36 innings pitched.

Bishop Brady head coach Skip Foy received the Division III Coach of the Year award, leading the Giants to the No. 2 seed in the D-III tournament and a 16-1 record. Brady is playing in its first final four in several seasons, and a victory in Wednesday’s semifinal over No. 3 White Mountains would put the Giants in their first baseball final since 1989.

Also receiving accolades was Merrimack Valley assistant Justin Wheeler, who is retiring after 21 years with the Pride. Wheeler and Kingswood assistant Bill Rollins shared the D-II Assistant Coach of the Year award.

Several players were named to All-State rosters as well, with Bishop Brady leading area teams with seven total selections. A complete list of all All-State picks on area teams is below.

Division I

First Team: Brooks Craigue, sr., Concord.

Article continues after...

Yesterday's Most Read Articles

Concord’s new ice cream shop offers unique flavors
Opinion: A look at the Elderly Property Tax Exemption
‘Don’t fall behind’ - Taking and selling properties left to local discretion
Rolling out the red carpet for Concord High prom
Hometown Hero: A walk around the mall with Darbster volunteer Uncle Ross
Opinion: Outstanding issues at the Broken Ground site

Second Team: Matt Drewes, sr., Concord.

Division II

First Team: Owen Webber, so., Bow; Chase Philibotte, jr., John Stark.

Second Team: Gavin Wheeler, sr., Merrimack Valley; Hunter Keim, jr., John Stark; Owen Stewart, so., Pembroke.

Third Team: Cam Evans, sr., Bow; Landon Pearson, sr., Pembroke; Freddy Schaaf, sr., Coe-Brown; Tommy Flanagan, sr., Coe-Brown.

Division III

First Team: Jaxson Embree, so., Belmont; Anakin Underhill, so., Belmont; Mike Thresher, sr., Bishop Brady; Bryce Miller, sr., Bishop Brady; Anthony Boomer, sr., Winnisquam.

Second Team: Liam Waldron, sr., Belmont; Winn Thomas, fr., Bishop Brady; Andy Hunton, jr., Bishop Brady; Chris Grimbilas, sr., Bishop Brady; Alex Nichols, jr., Winnisquam.

Third Team: Bradyn Mundy, sr., Bishop Brady; Charlie Bolnick, fr., Bishop Brady; Joe Yanzo, sr., Kearsarge; Ayden Cushing, sr., Winnisquam; Brady Palmer, sr., Winnisquam.

Division IV

First Team: Zach Syvertson, jr., Concord Christian.

Second Team: Nate St. Jean, sr., Concord Christian; T.J. Charbono, so., Concord Christian.

Third Team: Jayden Day, sr., Concord Christian.